top of page

Period of Reflection

Chapter three: Summer Edition


Oftentimes we are so caught up in our own chaotic lives we fail to recognize how far we've come. The other day I was driving to the grocery store, though it felt like the millionth thing I had to do that day. A thought submerged my mind, how far I've come. I was overwhelmed with just how proud I was of myself and kind of frustrated that I hadn't praised myself before. Yes, I may treat myself after accomplishing a task that was difficult or that consumed a good amount of time, but I had never admired my accomplishments or the hard work I put in. Stop waiting for other people to tell you just how proud they are of you, tell yourself and mean it. It may matter or mean more, because no one else knows just how hard you work than yourself.


A message from me to you


You have silently been reaching milestones and transforming yourself. Don't wait till you reach a goal to be proud of every step you've made in the right direction. You deserve nothing but the best and your time is coming. Keep going and get better each and every day. 


I've noticed it is often important to recite positive affirmations everyday, such as:

  • There are no limits to my success.

  • I'm successful because I know what I want in life.

  • I can achieve anything I want.

  • I live in abundance and prosperity.


What I am currently doing this summer

Finding the motivation to get things done this summer has felt tremendously hard, even more so when I am just finding a way to survive in my non air conditioned home. Though I have to remind myself it is all for the betterment and to pave the way for my future. I do have to note that I am extremely grateful for the opportunities I have gotten this summer.


As a McNair scholar I have been given the opportunity to exceed in graduate program applications, something I would have not been aware of or done on my own. Whether it be finding my strength in order to incorporate them in a personal statement, take the GRE practice to find my problem areas or to practice giving my elevator speech when an opportunity presents itself. I am also working with my mentor in reviewing literature for my upcoming research and in order to create a poster that I will be presenting at the end of the summer. I also have been given the chance to widen my knowledge on the issue concerning over-diagnosis and diagnostic inflation through the book, Saving Normal written by Allen Frances. I am expected to turn in and write in depth summary on the ideas presented and reflection of each chapters. I have also taken on a summer class, pharmacology. A class that is very important and necessary if I am pursuing a career in clinical psychology. Lastly, I am currently a caregiver with a company I have been with since 2018, where I get to work with adults with mild to severe mental disorders that range from schizophrenia, autism, bipolar disorder, borderline personality disorders, and many more. Which on its own will serve many benefits to put on my resume. Though it is a busy summer, I am more than happy expanding my knowledge into a topic I am passionate about.


67E40D43-5AF8-4BF0-A3B3-AC2CCE6439EB-20E

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for your time. Have an amazing day, beautiful. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page