top of page

Imposter Syndrome

Chapter five: Graduation

5/10/22

As a child it seemed that every adult including college students had their life together. I remember planning my life out- graduating college at 22, getting married at 23, and having kids at 25. However, I missed very important details in the equation, like how am I going to pay for rent, where am I going to meet the love of my life, are we ready for marriage let alone kids, am I ready for marriage, etc. There is a whole host of uncertainty in front of me, it was silly to think my 12-year-old self could plan it out to a tee.


As I have come to realize not every adult has their life together, especially college students. I find comfort in knowing we are all on the same boat. Whatever you might be feeling there are 100 other students likely feeling the same thing.


We are at a point of our lives where change is the only option. You either go for it or you crumble too afraid to pursue your dreams, but it is helpful knowing those around you feel the same way. The biggest one I have noticed is the imposter syndrome.


Imposter Syndrome

Imposter syndrome is defined as doubting your abilities and feeling like a fraud. It affects high-achieving people, who find it difficult to accept their accomplishments.


For most of this semester I have been dealing with imposter syndrome and burnout. Throughout this semester I have been so consumed with the amount of workload and obligations in front of me that I neglected to care for myself. It is so important to take self-care days for one's own mental well-being.


Affirmations to challenge imposter syndrome:


Where am I off to next?

I am hoping to move to the cities around the beginning of June. Between then and graduation I will be taking a break from all obligations. Around the beginning of June once I get situated with moving in, I will start applying to jobs. I don’t have a particular job I am looking for, but either a job concerning mental health or a non-profit. Around August I will be applying to counseling programs that start in the spring of 2022. I am very excited for what lies ahead, and I would like to thank the McNair program for guiding me to my decision to attend graduate school.

67E40D43-5AF8-4BF0-A3B3-AC2CCE6439EB-20E

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Thank you for your time. Have an amazing day, beautiful. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page